The Public Service Employment Act which came into force on Mar. 13, 1967, redefined the Commission's role as the central staffing agency and extended its authority to the public service, covering certain groups of employees exempt from the previous Acts. The public service is specified in Schedule A of the Public Service Staff Relations Act. It does not include Crown corporations, such as the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation, the Canadian National Railways and Air Canada. The new Act also reaffirmed the merit principle, at the same time permitting delegation of the Commission's authority, although not its responsibility, to Parliament. Under the Act, the Commission was relieved of responsibility for recommending rates of pay and conditions of service to the Government, for classification, and for consultation with staff associations on matters that are now the subject of collective bargaining.

Department of Public Works.—The Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act of Parliament. It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and protection work. Federal Government interest in the Trans-Canada Highway and the Northwest Highway System is also handled by the Department. The Department has six Regional Offices—one each at Halifax, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Edmonton and Vancouver—and District Offices at other key points across the country are also maintained. Departmental organization includes the following Directorates: Programme Planning, Design, Operations, Administrative Services, Financial Services, Personnel Administration, Information Services, Fire Prevention and Legal Services.

The Minister of Public Works is also responsible to Parliament for the National Capital Commission.

Department of the Registrar General.—This Department was established by the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 25) which was proclaimed effective Oct. 1, 1966. It is presided over by the Registrar General of Canada whose duties include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction relating to combines, mergers, monopolies and restraint of trade; patents, copyrights and trade marks; bankruptcy and insolvency; and corporate affairs. His functions also include the registration of all instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada, under the Seal of the Registrar General of Canada, and most of the instruments issued under the Privy Seal of the Governor General.\*

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the Federal Government, was organized in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, 1959 and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada. By agreement with the governments of eight provinces (all provinces except Ontario and Quebec) it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. A Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, has the control and management of the Force and of all matters connected therewith; he functions under the direction of the Solicitor General of Canada.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The duties, powers and functions of the Secretary of State of Canada extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: citizenship; elections; State ceremonial, the conduct of State correspondence and the custody of State records and documents; the encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

The responsibilities of the Department of the Secretary of State include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: Citizenship; Citizenship Registration; Education Support; National Museum of Canada; State Protocol and Parliamentary Returns; and Translation Bureau.

The Secretary of State of Canada reports to Parliament for the Centennial Commission, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Gallery and the Office of the Queen's Printer (Publisher), and is spokesman in the Cabinet and the House of Commons for the Board of Broadcast Governors, the Canada Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Public Service Commission, the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer and the Office of the Representation Commissioner.

Department of the Solicitor General.—Before 1936, the Office of the Solicitor General was either a Cabinet post or a Ministerial post outside the Cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the Office being wholly absorbed by the Attorney General of Canada. The Solicitor General Act, 1945 (RSC 1952, c. 253) re-established the Solicitor General as a Cabinet officer and provided that "... The Solicitor General shall assist the Minister of Justice in the Counsel

For transfer of certain of these duties to the Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs upon the establishment of the latter by Act of Parliament assented to on Nov. 27, 1967, see Appendix.